Cheesecake factory puts beef gelatin in many of their cheesecakes. Here you’ll find the complete list of their cheesecakes that are made without gelatin!
Cheesecakes from the Cheesecake Factory are delicious. However, some of them contain gelatin, which is a problem ingredient for multiple groups of people. Gelatin is typically derived from the skin and bones of animals, so those who keep a vegetarian or vegan diet will not eat it. Similarly, some groups who follow Kosher or Halal laws will not eat these animal products either, unless it is from an approved source.
Therefore, I reached out to Whitney Dunn, of the Cheesecake Factory Headquarters, to find out the story on gelatin used in Cheesecake Factory Cheesecakes. It turns out that many of their cheesecakes do not contain gelatin, and out of the ones that do contain gelatin, some contain Halal-approved beef gelatin. Here is the list of cheesecakes that do NOT contain gelatin, followed by a list of those that contain Halal-approved gelatin.
Note: This list has been updated and is current as of January 2018!
Cheesecakes that DO NOT contain animal gelatin:
Original Cheesecake
Fresh Strawberry Cheesecake
Original with Cherry Topping
Ultimate Red Velvet Cake Cheesecake
Reese’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Cake Cheesecake
Toasted Marshmallow S’Mores Galore Cheesecake
Lemon Meringue Cheesecake
Salted Caramel Cheesecake
Chocolate Hazelnut Crunch Cheesecake
Hershey’s Chocolate Bar Cheesecake
30th Anniversary Chocolate Cake Cheesecake
Chocolate Mousse Cheesecake
White Chocolate Raspberry Truffle Cheesecake
Chris’ Outrageous Cheesecake
Tiramisu Cheesecake
Fresh Banana Cream Cheesecake
Adams Peanut Butter Cup Fudge Ripple Cheesecake
Lemon Raspberry Cream Cheesecake
Low Carb Cheesecake
Low Carb Cheesecake with Strawberries
White Chocolate Caramel Macadamia Nut Cheesecake
Snickers Bar Chunks and Cheesecake
Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cheesecake
Caramel Pecan Turtle Cheesecake
Craig’s Crazy Carrot Cake Cheesecake
Chocolate Tuxedo Cream Cheesecake
Pumpkin & Pumpkin Pecan Cheesecakes (seasonal)
Coffee & Cream Chocolate Supreme Cheesecake
Celebration Cheesecake
Other Desserts that do NOT contain animal gelatin
Linda’s Fudge Cake
Black Out Cake
Carrot Cake
Warm Apple Crisp
Lemoncello Cream Torte
Tiramisu
Chocolate Tower Truffle Cake
Fresh Strawberry Shortcake
Cheesecakes that DO contain Halal Beef Gelatin
Godiva Chocolate Cheesecake
Dulce de Leche Cheesecake
Oreo Dream Extreme Cheesecake
Key Lime Cheesecake
Mango Key Lime Cheesecake
Vanilla Bean Cheesecake
Peppermint Bark Cheesecake (seasonal)
It is safe to assume that cheesecakes I have not listed here DO contain (non-Halal) gelatin. Happy eating!
In terms of Cheesecake Factory bread, some of them are vegan, others not, but they do tend to be vegetarian. You can even buy some of the breads online or at your local grocery store, so just be sure to check the ingredients. To get the best price, use a price tracker like PriceLasso.
How about vanilla extract? Ar they using Vanilla extract or powder vanilla? Because vanilla extract contains alcohol.
Great question! You can find the answer here: https://approvedeats.com/cheesecake-factory-halal-cheesecakes-which-cheesecakes-contain-gelatin-or-alcohol/
vanilla extract bakes out of the cakes, so no alcohol is present in the end product 🙂
Some of these cakes contain alcohol, either directly or as an additive to vanilla. Plus I’ve seen posts saying that the original and unltimate red velvet ones DO contain non-halal beef gelatin… please re-check, thanks
Thanks for your comment. Yes, you are correct in that these cakes contain alcohol, specifically due to alcohol-based vanilla extract. You can find more information on that here: https://approvedeats.com/cheesecake-factory-halal-cheesecakes-which-cheesecakes-contain-gelatin-or-alcohol/
Also, I have confirmed that this is the most updated list regarding which cheesecakes contain gelatin.
Thank you for your research. Do their cheesecakes contain animal derived rennet?
I called in the Toronto yorkdale mall cheese cake factory and they mentioned that all the cheese cakes have animal gelatin and there are no halal/vegan cheese cakes available and even other cakes they offer also have gelatin
Hi Zainab, I’m not sure who you talked to, but according to John Marotta (from Cheesecake Factory’s corporate office), the list on this page is true for the Yorkdale location as well (meaning there are many cheesecakes that do not contain gelatin!)
Well I called in the restaurant n spoke to the manager there, he didn’t mention the name
What about the Cheesecake Factory in Toronto( newly opened)
Do cheesecakes at this location have gelatin?
Hi Momo, thanks for your concern. I reached out to their corporate office and can confirm that this list applies to the Yorkdale location as well. Enjoy!
I double-checked this on the spot, and also via phone for the Palo Alto location as of Feb 2018, and unfortunately this list does NOT seem to apply here. All the gelatin here seems to be pork-based.
Can you please confirm if their cheese cakes have eggs. And if yes, is there any cheesecake that is eggless and animal rennet & gelatin free.
I would just like to point out that the ultimate red velvet cake cheesecake and the white chocolate raspberry truffle cheesecake both contain carmine and are therefore not vegetarian.
Where did you find out that they contain Carmine?
Is there food mix with pork meat ?
A recent opening of a store in Macau sar has opened and I want to ask if the vegetarian list is applicable there ?
did they offer eggless cake?
I’m thrilled to find this post but having a hard time believing that the Toasted S’mores Galore is Halal. Are the in-house s’mores vegan?